DOLLAR

The history of the Dollar brand,

Louis Delachanal (1857-1920) joined Ets Foucher, a precision mechanics and locksmith company founded in 1850. A few years later, he married Juliette, the daughter of his employer, hence the appearance on the leaflets of the surname Foucher and Delachanal when the Omnium cycles were created in 1890, installed at 3 rue Taylor in Paris. Louis Delachanal is the technical director. Along with this new activity, the company is also the supplier to the Ministry of Posts and Telegraphs of letter boxes installed in the four corners of France. For collectors, a few years ago one could still discover in the bend of a village these solid cast iron boxes become collector's Delachanal / Charenton.

At the turn of the century, the company was prosperous and moved into new premises at 5 avenue de la liberté in Charenton. On the eve of the great war, only the name of Delachanal now appears on the prospectuses. The title is "Manufacture Française des cycles Omnium". In addition to the supply of bicycles, we also read those of carrier tricycles and Omnium elbow machines. The locksmith business also continues with the manufacture of padlocks, tumbler locks and trunk locks ... etc ...

image3_edited.jpg

When Louis Delachanal died on November 14, 1920, one of these two daughters, Jeanne, took over the management of the business. Married to a Mr. Firino, they created shortly after the SAVAVA (helped by wealthy investors), which in April 1927 became the "Société anonyme des Ets Delachanal". Here begins the adventure of what was one of the great brands of the 20s and 30s.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The motorcycle project is in the works and at the October 1923 show the first motorcycle appears, a 125 cm3 ... named DOLLAR! The fashion is English-speaking, the help of our friends from across the Atlantic during the past conflict, the good press and the reputation for robustness of Harleys and Indians who remained on the continent are no stranger to it. Moreover, many French brands will adopt this strategy: Stylson, Rhonyx, New Map, Carlton ...

This 125cm3, compared to the painful 2-stroke engines of the competition, is equipped with a robust and powerful 4-stroke Moser, of Swiss construction; this is produced under license in Pontarlier.

For the 1924 show, in addition to the 125 offered in two versions "tourism" and "sport", appears a 175 still with a Moser engine!

In the absence of a show in 25, the catalog of 26 expands with no less than 14 models, all with Moser, ranging from 125 to 250 type ESC Grand Sport, Also offered a tandem motorcycle in 250cm3 and 300cm3 type FMT, and a 250cc tricycle with a payload of 150kg.

Another aspect that the leaders have integrated well is advertising. They underline in their brochures or catalogs the races in which the runners, Clech, Druz, Lambert, Lacombe, to name only the most famous, gleaned many successes on Dollar. The brand even publishes a newspaper called "La moto Dollar" periodical organ of the SAVAVA Delachanal establishments. This will be the subject of three issues in 1926, and seems to stop in 1927 ...

In 1927, the range of 26 was renewed, the only new feature was a 350cm3 Moser type HS and HSC Super Sport Confort engine. This will be tested in Moto Revue. Another item in the catalog is a Dollar side. Indeed at this time when the car is still not very accessible to the greatest number, it is an economical means of transport. In 1925, 25,273 Side-cars circulated in France against 117,389 Motorcycles, or almost 22% of the fleet, and in the Seine department this figure reached 41% !!!

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

At the end of the year at the October show, a big change will take place: on its stand the Dollar brand offers models equipped with the new "Chair" motor with camshaft in the lead. These are the emanation of Maurice Chaise, engine manufacturer, former production manager at Gnome et Rhône. Dollar as a precursor, will be the first manufacturer to go into series production of this type of revolutionary engine for the time.

The following year there will be around thirty brands to follow suit by offering this type of architecture.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In the meantime, in spring 28, the brand is setting up the bridge in its new factory at 19 quai de la Marne in Joinville. Equipped with modern tools, it must meet the growing demand for sales of motorcycles. We therefore find the 350 and 500 ACT Chair type K and L in catalog 28, as well as a 175cm3 two-stroke type I chair engine. There remains the 175 DSC and 250 ESC powered by Moser.

At the 1928 show of the Moser engine range, only the 175 DSC remained. Two models made their appearance, the type N 250 cm3 and O 350 cm3 with lateral JAP engine, and the types K and L with inter-tube tank are doubled by those with saddle tank, the types KSS and LSS.

In January 1929 on a price leaflet was born of the type P. It is about the new overturned 250 soon followed by the 350 which will subsequently be the great success of the brand. 1929 is also the appearance of the famous "frame-beam" in forged steel which will soon equip all motorcycles. It is also the arrival of Géo Ham the famous designer who will work on the catalog side and other advertisements for Dollar.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Nothing is too good in these good years. At the show of the same year, the range was once again enlarged with the types 250 P2, 350 R2, and R3 and the 500 Chaise always tumbled types S and S2. To the 350 type O equipped with the lateral JAP is added the U and V type with tumbled JAP. The famous Majestic which had caused a sensation at the previous show are now in the bosom of Dollar after the license has been bought back from its creator Mr Georges ROY.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

At Dollar it is also the establishment of credit in 10 times without charge!

The year 1930 will be marked by several events. Indeed it seems that the IMO (Metallurgical and Industrial Omnium), creation of Mr. Bajard who has just bought the Maurice Chaise business, has absorbed the DOLLAR brand because of its debt to its appointed engine manufacturer.

But let's stay at the 1930 salon where the beauties of Joinville shine. Motorization side we can see a 500 equipped with a four-cylinder V-cooled turbine. It will never be marketed but it is a good publicity stunt. New models are added; They are of type Y and X, respectively equipped with 350 and 500 MAG tumbled. Except for their engines, they are the same motorcycles as the U and V types with JAP engines. Then the 350 R4 richly chromed with transparent enamel paint, blue, red, green, beige, havana, marbled, Vaucanson dashboard with lighting, watch, OS or Jaeger counter, it is worth "an arm" we would say today. And if it was necessary to make the addition more difficult, you had the cardan transmission and rear suspension as an option! It must be said that the list of options is long at DOLLAR and you can customize your frame as you wish.

As previously written, the takeover by the IMO is effective in this year 31 and soon the production will move to 34 rue Auguste Lançon, Paris. The beautiful Joinville factory is over! The range is still bloated and now comes with two BMAs. The owner of the name goes to the DOLLAR brand, before Motobécane… These BMAs, according to the regulations, to be able to be driven without a license must weigh no more than 30kg and not exceed 30Km / h. This is also the year when the frame becomes fully die-cast, front / rear right down to the crutch itself, and DOLLAR fishtail mufflers.

In the absence of the autumn salon 31, (the famous crisis of 29 crossed the Atlantic) at the 1932 salon big publicity stunt for DOLLAR with the presentation of the 750 V, the brand's legendary model, which will be produced about ten copies. It is also the 350 R2 French army type, name due to the fact that the brand has just obtained the approval of the army for the supply of motorcycles. Another novelty, rather a prototype never produced, the 125 B1 with cardan shaft passing through the lower tube of the frame and the new 250 type P4 which has just finished with Rasser 1st Ex Aequo of the Tour de France.

Let us see the year 1933: appearance of the 500 S4, double rear brake drum, dashboard with watch and counter, the top of the range after the disappearance of the JAP and MAG engine types from the catalog. It is also the so-called "sport" models, in fact a beautiful (or more) cast aluminum exhaust elbows with raised exhaust giving a sporty look… the engine being strictly standard on all displacements!

No major upheavals for 1934, except, in a difficult international economic situation, an increase in prices (which will crescendo until the eve of the conflict) on a number of models.

At DOLLAR, things changed little in 1935 with the new 250 P35 ... In fact, we went back to the first tubular frame of the 250 P type 28! Radical change in August of that same year. Moto Revue publishes an article about what will be the all-new 350 R 35 (which will become R 36). Two or three prototypes come, for the development to cover about 20,000 km each. Nothing in common with the old Chair blocks. New and magnificent inclined cylinder engine which will also be available in 500cc. This will give in 350cc the standard and Normandy versions (a little nod to the same liner which has just been launched) and for the standard 500cc and Pulman, reference to the Luxury train.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

1936 ... Year of paid holidays (Thanks to our grandparents) ... from the popular front ... and at DOLLAR the new 250 P36 with motor Chair incilne in the frame (still the old and good tumble). The 250 P35 in single and double exhaust and also in a sport version with raised pipes, and of course the always magnificent R36 and S536.

From 1937 to 1939, apart from the addition of a big sister to the 250 P36, I named the 350 R9 the range will consist of the 250 P35, 250 P36, 350 R9, 350 R36, and 500 S536

_MG_4202-Modifier_edited.jpg

At the 1956 show with the purchase of the surname DOLLAR, the FOLLIS brand will present the 350 Chair block of the R36 in a FOLLIS cycle part, a prototype that will never be marketed, and in their catalog a DOLLAR type C103 and a 125 TYPE cyclo ... YDRAL engine.

1997, the Amicale Dollar was created under the chairmanship of Mr JM MADRANGES. Real enthusiasts who have allowed DOLLAR to exist during all these years. They also offer remanufacturing on their site www.amicaledollar.com.

2007, The One Dollar to Bonneville project allows people to talk about the Indian again.

2018, the DOLLAR Motorcycle idea was born. The project revolving around the Dollar brand provides for the creation of a new motorcycle ...

the story continues ...

© 2019, tout droits déposés 1923 Motorcycles.

Dollar est une marque déposée.

DOLLAR

L'histoire de la marque Dollar, 

Louis Delachanal ( 1857-1920) entre encore jeune, chez les Ets Foucher, entreprise de mécanique de précision et de serrurerie créée en 1850. Il y épousera quelques années plus tard, Juliette, la fille de son employeur, d'où l'apparition sur les dépliants du patronyme Foucher et Delachanal lors de la création des cycles Omnium en 1890, installés 3 rue Taylor à Paris. Louis Delachanal en est le directeur technique. Parallèlement à cette nouvelle activité, l'entreprise est également le fournisseur du ministère des postes et télégraphes des boites aux lettres installées aux quatres coins de la France. Pour les collectionneurs, il y a quelques années on pouvait encore découvrir au détour d'un village ces solides boites en fonte devenues collector siglées Delachanal/Charenton. 

En ce début de siècle l'entreprise est prospère et aménage dans de nouveaux locaux au 5 avenue de la liberté à Charenton. A la veille de la grande guerre, seul apparait maintenant sur les prospectus le nom de Delachanal. L'intitulé en est "Manufacture Française des cycles Omnium". En complément de la fourniture de bicyclettes, on lit également celles de tricycles porteurs  et de machines à coude Omnium. L'activité serrurerie perdure aussi avec la fabrication de cadenas, de serrures à gorges et de serrures de malle… etc...

Au décès de Louis Delachanal le 14 Novembre 1920, c'est l'une de ces deux filles, Jeanne, qui reprendra la direction des affaires. Mariée à un monsieur Firino, ils créaient peu de temps après la SAVAVA, qui deviendra le 22 juin 1921 la "Société anonyme des Ets Delachanal". Ici Commence l'aventure de ce qui fut l'une des grandes marques des années 20/30. 

Le projet de moto est dans les cartons et au salon de d'octobre 1923 apparait la première moto, une 125 cm3 … du nom de DOLLAR! La mode est au consonances anglophones ( déjà du "marketing"), l'aide de nos amis d'outre atlantique lors du conflit passé, la bonne presse et la réputation de robustesse des Harley ou Indian restées sur le continent n'y étant pas étranger. D'ailleurs bien des marques françaises adopteront cette stratégie: Stylson, Rhonyx, New Map, Carlton...

Cette 125cm3, comparativement aux moteurs 2 temps souffreteux de la concurrence, est équipée d'un robuste et performant  4 temps Moser, de construction Suisse; celui-ci est produit sous licence à Pontarlier. 

Pour le salon de 1924, outre la 125 proposées en deux versions "tourisme" et "sport", apparait une 175 toujours à moteur Moser ! 

En l'absence de salon en 25, le catalogue de 26 s'étoffe avec pas moins de 14 modèles, tous avec les Moser, allant des 125 au 250 type ESC Grand Sport, Egalement proposée une moto tandem en 250cm3 et 300cm3 type FMT, et un tricycle 250cm3 d'une charge utile de 150kg. 

Autre aspect que les dirigeants ont bien intégré, c'est la publicité. Ils soulignent dans leurs prospectus ou catalogues les courses dans lesquelles les coureurs, Clech, Druz, Lambert, Lacombe, pour ne citer que les plus connus, glanèrent de nombreux succés sur Dollar. La marque édite même un journal appelé " La moto Dollar" organe périodique des établissements SAVAVA Delachanal. Celui-ci fera l'objet de trois numéros en 1926, et semble s'arrêter en 1927...

En 1927, la gamme de 26 est reconduite, seule nouveauté une 350cm3 moteur Moser type HS et HSC Super Sport Confort. Celle-ci fera l'objet d'un essai dans Moto Revue. Autre élément au catalogue un side Dollar. En effets à cette époque où la voiture est encore peu accessible au plus grand nombre, c'est un moyen de transport économique . En 1925 circule en France 25273 Side-cars contre 117389 Motocyclettes soit presque 22% du parc et dans le département de la Seine ce chiffre atteint 41% !!!

En cette fin d'année au salon d'octobre un grand changement va intervenir: sur son stand la marque Dollar propose des modèles équipés du nouveau moteur "Chaise" à arbre à came en tête. Ceux-ci sont l'émanation de Maurice Chaise, motoriste, ancien chef de fabrication chez Gnome et Rhône. Dollar en précurseur, sera le premier constructeur à monter en série ce type de moteur révolutionnaire pour l'époque. 

L'année d'après ils seront une trentaine de marques à emboiter le pas en proposant ce type d'architecture. 

Entre-temps, en ce printemps 28, la marque aménage dans sa nouvelle usine au 19 quai de la Marne à Joinville le pont. Equipé d'un outillage moderne, elle doit répondre à la demande grandissante des ventes de motos. Nous retrouvons donc les 350 et 500 ACT Chaise de type K et L au catalogue 28, ainsi qu'une 175cm3 deux temps le type I de moteur Chaise. Subsiste la 175 DCS et 250 ESC à moteur Moser. 

Au salon de 1928 de la gamme à moteur Moser seul reste la 175 DSC. Deux modèles font leur apparition, le type N 250 cm3 et O 350cm3 à moteur JAP latéral, et les types K et L à réservoir entre-tubes sont doublés par ceux à réservoir en selle, les types KSS et LSS. 

En janvier 1929  sur un dépliant tarifaire voit le jour du type P. Il s'agit du nouveau 250 culbuté bientôt suivi du 350 qui fera par la suite le grand succès de la marque. 1929 est aussi l'apparition du fameux "châssis-poutre" en acier matricé qui équipera bientôt toutes les motos. C'est aussi l'arrivée de Géo Ham le célèbre dessinateur qui va œuvrer coté catalogue et autres publicités pour Dollar. 

Rien n'est trop beau en ces années fastes. Au salon de la même année la gamme s'est une nouvelle fois agrandie avec les types 250 P2, 350 R2, et R3 et les 500 Chaise toujours culbutés type S et S2. A la 350 type O équipée du JAP latéral vient s'adjoindre les type U et V à JAP culbutés. Les célèbres Majestic qui avaient fait sensation au salon précédent sont maintenant dans le giron de Dollar après le rachat de la licence à son créateur Mr Georges ROY. 

Chez Dollar c'est aussi l'établissement du crédit en 10 fois sans frais ! 

L'année 1930 sera marquée par plusieurs évènement . En effet il semblerait que l'OMI (Omnium métallurgique et industriel) création de monsieur Bajard qui vient de racheter l'affaire de Maurice Chaise, ait absorbé la marque DOLLAR du fait de son endettement auprès de son motoriste attitré.

Mais restons au salon de 1930 où brillent les belles de Joinville.  Coté motorisation on peut voir une 500 équipée d'un quatre cylindre en V refroidissement par turbine. Celle-ci ne sera jamais commercialisée mais c'est un bon coup  de publicité. De nouveaux modèles viennent s'ajouter; Il s'agit de type Y et X, équipés respectivement de 350 et 500 MAG culbutés. Excepté leurs motorisation ce sont les même motos que les types U et V moteur JAP. Puis la 350 R4 richement chromée avec peinture émaillée transparente, bleue, rouge, vert, beige, havane, marbrée, tableau de bord Vaucanson avec éclairage, montre, compteur OS ou Jaeger, elle vaut "un bras" dirions nous aujourd'hui. Et si il fallait corser l'addition vous aviez en option la transmission par cardan et la suspension arrière! Il faut dire que la liste des options est longue chez DOLLAR et vous pouviez personnaliser à souhait votre monture. 

Comme écrit précédemment la prise en main par L'OMI est effective en cette année 31 et bientôt la production déménagera au 34 rue Auguste Lançon, Paris. Finie la belle usine de Joinville ! La gamme est encore pléthorique et vient s'adjoindre maintenant deux BMA. Le paterne du nom revient à la marque DOLLAR, avant Motobécane… Ces BMA, suivant la réglementation, pour pouvoir être conduites sans permis doivent peser pas plus de 30kg et ne pas dépasser 30Km/h. C'est aussi l'année où le cadre devient tout matricé, avant/arrière jusqu'à la béquille elle-même, et des silencieux en queue de poisson siglé DOLLAR.  

En l'absence de salon d'automne 31, (la fameuse crise de 29 a traversé l'Atlantique) au salon de 1932 gros coup de publicité pour DOLLAR avec la présentation de la 750 V, modèle mythique de la marque, qui sera produite à une dizaine d'exemplaires. C'est aussi la 350 R2 type armée française, appellation  due au fait que la marque vient d'obtenir l'agrément de l'armée pour la fourniture de motos. Autre nouveauté, plutôt prototype jamais produit, la 125 B1 à cardan passant dans le tube inférieur du cadre et la nouvelle 250 type P4 qui vient de terminer avec Rasser 1ère Ex Aequo du tour de France. 

Voyons l'année 1933: apparition de la 500 S4, double tambour de frein arrière, tableau de bord avec montre et compteur, le haut de gamme après la disparition au catalogue des types à moteur JAP et MAG. C'est aussi les modèles dits "sport", en fait un beau ( ou des) coudes d'échappement en fonderie d'aluminium avec échappement relevé donnant une allure sportive… le moteur étant strictement de série sur toutes les cylindrées ! 

Pas de grands bouleversements pour 1934, si ce n'est, dans une conjoncture internationale difficile, une augmentation des tarifs (qui ira crescendo jusqu'à la veille du conflit) sur nombre de modèle. 

Chez DOLLAR les choses bougent peu en 1935 avec la nouvelle 250 P35... En fait nous sommes revenus à quelques chose près au premier cadre tubulaire des 250 type P de 28 ! Changement radical en Août de cette même année. Moto Revue publie un article de ce que sera la toute nouvelle 350 R 35 (qui deviendra R 36). Deux ou trois prototypes viennent, pour la mise au point de parcourir environ 20000 km chacun. Rien de commun avec les anciens blocs Chaise. Nouveau et magnifique moteur à cylindres inclinés qui sera également décliné en 500cc. Cela donnera en 350cc les versions standard et Normandie (petit clin d'œil au paquebot du même qui vient d'être mis à l'eau ) et pour les 500cc standard et Pulman, référence au train de Luxe. 

1936... Année des congés payés ( Merci à nos grand-parents ) … du front populaire… et chez DOLLAR la nouvelle 250 P36 à moteur Chaise incilné dans le cadre ( toujours l'ancien et bon culbuté). La 250 P35 en simple et double échappement et aussi en version sport avec des pots relevés, et bien sûr les toujours magnifiques R36 et S536. 

De 1937 à 1939, hormis l'adjonction d'une grande sœur à la 250 P36, j'ai nommé la 350 R9 la gamme se composera des 250 P35, 250 P36, 350 R9, 350 R36, et 500 S536

Au salon de 1956 par le rachat du patronyme DOLLAR, la marque FOLLIS présentera le bloc 350 Chaise de la R36 dans une partie cycle de FOLLIS, prototype qui ne sera jamais commercialisé, et sur leur catalogue un cyclo DOLLAR type C103 et une 125 TYPE … à  moteur YDRAL. 

 

1997, l'amicale Dollar voit le jour sous la présidence de Mr JM MADRANGES. Véritables passionnés ils ont permis à DOLLAR d'exister pendant toutes ces années. Ils proposent  également de la refabrication sur leur site www.amicaledollar.com. 

 

2007, Le projet One Dollar to Bonneville permet de faire parler de l'indien à nouveau. 

 

2018, l'idée DOLLAR Motorcycle voit le jour. Le projet tournant autour de la marque Dollar prévoit la création d'une nouvelle moto … 

 

l'histoire continue ...

Sign up. Stay stylish

© 2019, tout droits déposés 1923 Motorcycles.

Dollar est une marque déposée. 

  • Facebook Social Icône
  • Instagram